Stoner Creek Report

Yesterday I went down to Stoner Creek. I put in below the dam at Fryman’s. It turn in to the toughest day fishing this year. With the cloud cover I hoped for a good topwater bite. The water was in great shape and there was a good flow still. The only problem I encountered was there were a lot of leaves on the water. With the wind there were areas of leaves that were so thick that it was very difficult to fish. I have to say I tried everything. I tried a buzzbait, craws, deep crankbait, shallow crankbait and flukes. I did catch Bass on everything but the craws. I only caught Redeye on them. I caught most of my fish on the buzzbait which was a lot of fun. The only problem was the fish were very scattered. Almost all the fish caught was on or near wood. I finished the afternoon with only 17 bass. The good news was only 2 were dinks. My larges was a 2.5 pounder I caught on a buzzbait. If you are really bored I did take my GoPro with me and I have a short video of my afternoon on YouTube. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

