Stoner Creek/Strode Creek

Robby and I went down to Fryman’s. The water was at the normal level for this time of year. The water looks muddy, but it is due to a brown algae bloom. We went up into Strode creek. I caught a couple of good fish on a 3 inch craw. I also threw a buzzbait and caught another couple of fish. We started crankbaiting. I caught about 4 dink Smallies.  To be honest the fish were not biting. We ended up only catching about 12 fish. The largemouths we were catching were nice fish. I decided to make a change. We left Strode Creek and we went all the way up Stoner to the Mill Dam. There were a lot of weeds in the area. I started throwing a buzzbait and I would catch an occasional nice Largemouth. We tried frogs around the weeds and logs. We had several hits, but we never hooked a fish. We fished all the way back down to Strode Creek. The only thing we caught a fish on was a Buzzbait. I finished the day with only 19 Bass. 10 were caught on a Buzzbait and all were nice 1.5 to 2.5 lb. I believe this cool front screwed every thing up. I sure hope things improve. Robby finished the day with only 5 fish, but no dinks like I had.  Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

