Private Lake

My buddy Robby has been wanting to get some practice fishing in before our West Virginia, New River trip this weekend. I decided to take him over to the private lake. Since it was still cloudy I was hoping for a good buzzbait bite. I never had a fish hit it. The water was clear and in the high 80’s. We threw 2 kinds of crankbaits. Very Shallow stickbaits or deep diving crankbaits. When I say deep diving I mean one that will dive to 5 feet or a little deeper. I was  surprised that a lot of the fish were less than 2 feet deep. We didn’t catch very many large fish. Most were in the 10 to 13 inch range. I did have one fish that looked about 3# break me off. Another surprise was how many pan fish were hitting and getting hooked. Bluegill and Warmouths. We had two surprises. Robby hooked a big fish and it took him a while to land it. It turned out to be about a 4 lbs Channel catfish on a crankbait. About the time we were quitting I hooked what I thought was a big Drum. It must have taken me 3 minutes to land the fish. It turned out to be a 8# Channel Catfish which I hooked in less than 2 feet of water. We didn’t have a great afternoon but we boated 50 bass total. I just wish they were bigger. We are thinking about another trip tomorrow if possible. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.20376005_10210437747524772_2284038781611582950_n

Leave a Reply

