Elkhorn Creek

I went down to Elkhorn today with 2 beautiful young ladies. To be honest that was the high light of the day. We fished from Knight’s Bridge down to Canoe Ky. The water was clear and 92 degrees. (bath water) The fishing was hard. We tried about every thing and we just couldn’t get them to hit much. With the clear water we saw all kinds of fish. They just wasn’t interested. I believe we got more hits on mini flukes. The fish would hit and just grab the tails. We missed so many fish it wasn’t funny. We tried different colors, no improvement.  We did catch a few fish on shallow crankbaits. You couldn’t let your lures run to deep or you would pickup moss or get hung up. The greats moment was Sabrina caught a fish on a crankbait.  It jumped and one of the hooks got hung in a cord on the front of her yak. I was working myself a round her yak when she leaned too far over the side to see what it was hooked on. I grabbed her yak to help and she almost took me with her as she went in.  She loss her rod for a minute or two. When she recovered it. It still had the fish on. She said it felt good. We didn’t catch any big fish. Most were dinks. Our largest was 12-13 inches. We saw plenty of big fish they just wouldn’t hit. This was Kendell’s first time fishing from a yak and casting on her own. I was very impressed. She didn’t catch very many trees and only broke off one time.  I look forward to another trip with the ladies.  It was a beautiful day to be on the creek, I just wish the fish were biting. We finished the day with Sabrina boating 8, Kendell boated 7 and I boated 22. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

ps. Sabrina has some pictures and I will post them when I get them.

Leave a Reply

