Stoner Creek

I know that everybody must think that I am only fishing Stoner Creek this year. Elkhorn is still to high to fish the way I like to fish it. The  wind was blowing to hard for me to go to Taylorsville Lake. I decided to go to Stoner Creek. I put in at a friends farm. I just built some new tandem bladed buzzbaits I want to give a try.  I have to say I had a great but terrible day. I did catch fish on my new buzzbaits. For some reason I hooked the biggest bass I have every hooked in Stoner, but I loss I know 3 times as many as I boated. I boated about 8 bass on my buzzbaits and Loss 20 to 25. I trimmed the skirt shorter that didn’t help. I added a stinger hook and that didn’t help either. I believe the fish were just slapping at the buzzbaits. When I was in shallow water I caught some on a small silver and black stickbait. In deeper water I used a chrome deep diving crankbait that went down 4 to 5 feet. After throwing a buzzbait over laydowns I would use a 3 inch craw.  I caught fish on everything I used. I loss count of bass 2.5 lbs or bigger I hooked that got off. The water was so clear I could see down about 3 to 4 feet which let me see the fish I was losing. I finished the day with only 37 fish, but 12 were 2.5 to 4 lbs. My biggest was caught on a craw. It may have been bigger than 4 lbs. I couldn’t

weight them because the battery died in my scales. Along with these pictures I should have a video of some of my big fish I caught or missed. It will be on YouTube later. The fish are active, so you need to get on the water. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

