Private Lake Fishing

My nephew David wanted to go fishing. One big problem, all the lakes river and creeks are flooded. Thank goodness I  can still go to a private lake. The great thing about it is that it may flood but it never muddies up. We got to the lake at about noon. It was clear but it was up about a foot. We started by throwing buzzbaits in the shade. David was able to catch a number of fish on one. I was only able to boat one fish after losing several. As usual I caught my fish on crankbaits. One was a shallow runner which would dive to about 2 feet and a deeper diver that ran to about 5 feet. Both were in chrome due to the bright sun light. We ended up having a good day, but it was strange. We caught most of our fish in areas that we usually don’t this time of year. Were we normally catch them we couldn’t find them. Most of our fish were in the 1.5 to 2.5 lb range. We didn’t catch but a few dinks. Our big fish was a 3.5 that David caught on a buzzbait. He loss 2 more that were as big. Again we didn’t find any schools of fish. I guess this cold front has kept the water temperature lower which has kept them from schooling. We finished the day with only 74 bass. I know one thing. When I0625171825 got off the lake I was tire. This was the first time in a long time that I fished for 9 hours. This will be my last post for a week or so because I am headed to Florida to fish the great big salt water pond. If you can find some clear water the fish are biting. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

