Strode Creek Fishing

I had wanted to give Taylorsville Lake a try, but my fishing partner wasn’t feeling good and a small emergency at home delayed me. I decided to make a late trip down to Fryman’s. The Creeks were up 4 to 5 inches with current. The water was murky but clearing. I went up Stoner and saw that Strode Creek was a little clearer and didn’t have much Duckweed on it. Apparently they had some bad storms. Strode creek had a number of trees down in the water and it made it difficult to get up. About 2.5 miles up the creek there are 2 trees down that are completely blocking it and I had to turn around. If all the rain that we are suppose to get doesn’t wash them out I will have to make sure to take a saw with me. They are blocking a part of the creek I love to fish and usually have great luck. The fish were in shallow water just on the edge of the current in the shade because of the bright sun. I never found any schools which I thought they should be doing by now. The fish came in basically two sizes. Dinks and keepers. I didn’t boat any fish over about 2.5 lbs but of course loss a couple of much bigger fish. They were hitting on a chrome stickbait that only went down maybe 3 feet on a long cast. I didn’t have a great day which I should have. Because I got there late I was fishing behind 2 boats that had gotten there first. Since the creek is small I believe the boat traffic does bother the fish some. I finished the day with only 55 bass. The surprise was I didn’t catch that  many Smallmouths, but I did boat one nice one. If we get all the rain they are saying we are going to get it will be a while before we will be able to get on the water. I did remember to take my GoPro and I have uploaded a video of my day on YouTube. If you are bored with all the rain give it a look.. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

 

Leave a Reply

