Stoner Creek/Strode Creek

I went to Fryman’s today. It was a tough day. The water was up about a foot with a lot of current. The water was very murky. You could only see down about 8 inches. I had planned to fish Stoner above Strode Creek. I was hoping to throw a buzzbait over all the lay down timber in the shade. When I got to Strode Creek it was much clearer. I decided to fish it instead of Stoner.  I have never fished Strode Creek with it up about a foot. It had a strong current and with the wind , positioning the boat was interesting. I found some fish in the small eddies close to the current. For some reason I didn’t catch any fish in the larger eddies.  When I did hook a fish there were usually several more in the same eddies. I was able to catch them on a watermelon color 3 inch craw and a chrome shallow crankbait. I was only able to fish for about 4 hours. Due to the current I had to keep my trolling motor on high and the battery started to give out. I only boated 15 bass most were largemouths. I had only 3 keepers, but the rest were in the 10 to 11 inch range. I loss again more fish than I boated. The one high light was that I hooked the biggest bass I have ever hooked in Strode Creek. I got it up to the boat and of course the hook pulled out. I would guess it in the 4 to 4.5 lb. range. Depending on how much rain we get the creeks should be in good shape by tomorrow. Till the next report hope to see you on the water.

 

Leave a Reply

