Taylorsville Lake Report

0508171726aI needed to run my bass boat to make sure everything was working for my upcoming Canada fishing trip. I decided to go to Taylorsville Lake. I wasn’t sure if I could catch any fish due to the big cold front that just went thru. The lake was up about a foot, but very clear for Taylorsville. I had several surprises. The first was the water temperature was between 65 and 70 degrees, much warmer than I would have thought. I caught more fish than I thought I would. They were very scattered but on wood. The second surprise was I saw 2 bass guarding fry. I thought the spawn was over. I caught most of my fish on a chrome color crankbait. The biggest problem was due to the clear water I had to keep cleaning the moss off of my lure. I did catch a few fish on a white Fluke. The fish were running between 11 and 14 inches. I did boat a 16 inch fish and 2 dinks. I hooked 20 bass and was able to boat 15 of them. I’m not sure how well the fish will be biting with another cold front coming thru. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

