Kentucky River Fishing Report

I decided at the last minute to make a trip to the Kentucky River. I launched at the ramp at the end of Ky 39 out of Nicholasville. The river was up about a foot and very dingy. The river water temperature was 58 degrees. I went into Paintslick creek and the water was clear and 65 degrees. This was what I was looking for. Usually if I can find the creeks clear and warmer than the river look out. I spent about an hour and half fishing the creek and only boated 1 nice Smallmouth. I went up river to Silver Creek. The water was clear and 65 degrees. I fished to the first riffle and caught a couple of fish. I was using a deep crankbait and a shallow one. I lost several fish. I started using a white fluke on the way out and picked up a couple of more fish. It was a tough day. I only boated 6 bass, one smallmouth, one largemouth and the rest were Kentuckys. I wish I had boated the ones I lost over the one I did boat. I know I lost at least a dozen. I really thought I was going to have a super day but someone warned the fish. I was only able to fish for 4 hours and I never made it to Sugar Creek.  I’m hoping to go to Taylorsville tomorrow I don’t know how much fishing I am going to do. I have to check the boat out for my up coming trips to Canada. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

