Private Lake Report

To be honest I had planned to go to Taylorsville today. I hurt my back from a fall last week and I haven’t been able to sleep. I guess it caught up with me and I over slept. I decided to give the private lake a shot. With the cloud cover I was hoping for a topwater bite. I thought with the cold front I may have a chance. Guess what they weren’t hitting. I only had 3 hits and caught one fish. I thought I would try a deep crankbait. I caught maybe 10 fish on it. I went to a shallow stickbait. I started killing them. They were next to the bank in less than 2 feet of water, The bad part was I caught a lot of dinks. I only caught 5-6 fish that were 2 lbs or a little better. Usually when the fish are that shallow and next to the bank I tear them up on topwater. They wouldn’t hit the stickbait till I started to retrieve it. I wouldn’t have to crank it in a foot and I would get a strike.  I didn’t lose many fish, so they were hitting hard. I only fished for about 4.5 hours and boated 62 fish. Which was very good although I wish I had located some bigger fish. The fish are biting good and should be the rest of the weekend if you can find some water that isn’t covered with leaves. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

