Private Lake Fishing

My Nephew David and his family came by last night to introduce me to my new Great Great Niece. If that don’t make you feel old nothing will. We decided we would go fishing today, boy are we stupid. The creeks are all running to low to float. I’m not about to go to a big lake and fight with the drunks, so it was my private lake. We started fishing at about 11 am. It was so hot and no breeze. We fished for about an hour and I wasn’t sure if I could go on. It finally started to cloud up and we finally got a good breeze. I had hoped to find a lot of schooling fish. That didn’t happen. The fish were scattered and they were any where from a foot deep to 6 to 8 feet deep. Most of our fish were caught on a deep diving crankbait but are you ready. We caught a lot on plastic worms fished in 4 to 8 feet of water. This was the most worm fishing I have done in quit a while. David was throwing a red color and I was using a shad color. Beside bass we caught a bunch of Warmouths. We had to wade a little bit and I must say I have taken baths that weren’t as hot as the lake water. We had to fish hard. We didn’t catch the numbers I had hoped. Usually by now the fish are schooling and we catch over a hundred fish. We only boated 65 and the size was a little small, with our biggest fish at only about 2.5 lbs. I’m very tired so I think I may sleep late in the morning. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

One response to “Private Lake Fishing

  1. It was hot but another great trip! Don’t forget about the perch we boated.
    And there was no telling what size the fish were that we lost or broke our line. Ready for the next trip!

Leave a Reply

