Private Lake Fishing

Good old Nathan at Canoe Kentucky got the paper to do a future article on me and my Kayak Fishing. It seems they do a weekend piece on baby boomers. They contacted Nathan to see if he knew a boomer that kayak fished. That’s where I come in. We decided it would be good for the business so I agreed. This afternoon a couple of photographers met me at the private lake to take pictures of me in my kayak fishing. They took 15 or 20 minutes of pictures and left. Since I was already on the water I decided I had a couple of hours I could fish before I had to work my part time job  and do some family stuff. Boy did I have a great day. The fish were in 1 to 5 feet of water and they were hungry. I caught 40 bass in about 2 hours. The other surprise was I didn’t miss many fish and only loss a few. I had only a half dozen dinks. Most were in the 1.5 lb to 2.75 lb range. I caught about a third on a buzzbait, which I love to do. I had to do a lot of paddling due to the wind and the slow water, but it was worth it. I don’t know what turned them on the approaching cold front or the overcast.  Something sure did.  It sure looks like we are going to get a bunch of rain so it may be awhile before I can get back on the water. To be honest we need the rain. Most lakes and for sure the creeks are low. This should improve the fishing. If you want to see an old fart fishing from a kayak you are just going to have to keep checking the paper. Should be good for a laugh. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

