Private Lake Fishing

I got up at 5 am this morning to help with a goose round up. I didn’t know how fast a goose can run. To be honest it was much faster than this old man could run. We finished just before the storms hit. I decided at about 2 pm to go fishing. With the overcast and clouds I was hoping for a topwater bite. I started on a steep bank with a crankbait. The wind was blowing into the bank and the fish were stacked up. In about a 100 yard  I boated 21 bass. All in the 12 to 14 inch range. I came to some weeds just under the water and started throwing a buzzbait. I caught a half a dozen nice fish. Then the sun popped out. and the buzzbait bite died. I switched to a frog and started fishing moss and weeds. I was getting a lot of hits, but I was having a hard time hooking them. There is no telling how many fish I missed. I finally fished a couple of steep bank with the crankbait. I only fished for 4 hours but in that time I caught 55 bass. I now wish I had started sooner. The fish are biting great so give them a try. Till the next post hope to see you on the water. I just want to let you know that Canoe Ky and I are trying to schedule three fishing class in the near future. The first will be casting and bait selection. The second is fishing and the third is Kayak fishing in Elkhorn. They will be in the evenings or weekends. We are just in the planning stages now. I will keep everyone posted

Leave a Reply

