South Elkhorn Creek

I when out yesterday with Sabrina and Aaron. This was their first time fishing South Elkhorn. The weather was hot and sunny, temperature was about 90. The water had a little color to it and the flow was about 90 cfs. With that flow it made it nice. I didn’t meet many rocks if you know what I mean. This was my maiden fishing trip in my new Jackson Kilroy kayak. I must say it was nice. The seat is very comfortable and the yak was surprisingly very stable. I love the rod holders. They keep my extra rods out of the way. I don’t have to worry about hitting or hanging them up, as I do with my Ultimate, The only negative is that it weights much more than the Ultimate. Now about the fishing.  The fish were hitting pretty good. The bad thing was , most were dinks. We were using shallow crankbaits and mini Flukes. I caught more Smallies on the crankbait, but Sabrina and Aaron caught more fish. They were catching Green Sunfish, Crappie, Shellcrackers, and of course Redeyes. My biggest fish was only about 13 inches. I finished the trip with 62 Smallmouths and with the Smallies that they caught we boated about a hundred total. I saw a number of bigger fish, but I guess the little guys were just more aggressive. Even with the small fish it was fun. The fish are biting so give them a try. Till the next post hope to see you on the water. I forgot to say that I have a short video of the trip on YouTube.

8 responses to “South Elkhorn Creek

  1. where do you put in and take out for the south elkhorn?

  2. Also what size of crankbaits and picture of. We went Thursday on north elkhorn from knigts to 127 caught about 40 plus fish with the biggest being about 14 inches. Most of the tackle i have is to big for this creek it seems. My chatterbaits, casting jigs and cranks are to big. Should have switched to a one the smaller spinner baits, the scrounger jig and 3″ fat albert did most of my damage. I caught 11 of our fish.

  3. To answer the first question We put in off Moores Mill Rd and took out at 341 it’s a long float. Both the put in and the take out are a little rough, especially the take out for the first 30 to 40 feet. (a lot of loose channel rock) The first thing I do is try to figure out what the fish are normally eating and what size. Since a 3 lb smallie is real big on this part of the creek I keep my lures small. Big fish will hit a small lure , small fish won’t hit a big lure. My rods are ultralight or light action 5.5 or 6 feet not longer due to the over hanging limbs, 6# to 8# line. Most of the crankbaits I use are 1.5 to 2 inches in length. My plastics are the mini Flukes or mini craws, no more than 2.5 inches in length. The fun is when you do hook a 2-3 lb fish the fight is on with the light rods. If you want you can go to YouTube and search my name Tommy Puckett and there should be 5 video’s of me fishing. Three are on the Elkhorn. You can see the baits I am using. Hope this helps.

  4. Erickson, David (KYTC-D03)

    Hey bud as always I enjoying reading your reports. I am going to be heading up to Frankfort with a couple of buddies on Thursday to fish and we were looking at fishing the main stem of Elkhorn. We were thinking about fishing from the Knights Bridge to the Hatchery. I think that was about an 8 or 9 mile float best I can remember. I was curious as to how long you think that float would take at 200cfs. We are planning on starting early to beat the heat. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    David Erickson

    • Boy is that a open question. If I were doing it, I would take all day. I would guessimate it will take 8-9 hours. I try to fish 1 mile for every hour if possible. It all depends on if you are catching fish. If the fish aren’t biting probably a little faster. If they are hitting good all day for me. Try small shallow crankbaits. you can cover a lot more water.

  5. Great Video!!

  6. Fishing with Tommy

Leave a Reply

