Elkhorn Creek Report

I went fishing yesterday. I put in at Knight’s Bridge and fished down to Canoe Ky. The creek was very clear, with a flow of 150 to 190 cfs. The flow was where I like it. It lets me fish at the pace I like ,but also is high enough to not hit a lot of rocks. To be honest the fishing was a little better than terrible. I saw plenty of big fish but couldn’t get them to hit. I tried crankbaits, flukes and even tubes. Flukes and crankbaits were the best by far. The fish just wouldn’t hit hard and this caused me to loss a lot of fish, more than I boated. The fish were in fast water that had to be a foot deep or more. There were a few above and below the rapids. I just had to cover a lot of water till I found a fish that was in the mood to eat. On top of the bad bite I got hung up more than I ever have in Elkhorn. I don’t know how I did it, but I hooked so many rocks that it became very frustrating. I do mean hooked in a rock not between them. Most of my fish were dinks with several nice fish. I don’t know where the 10 to 12 inch fish where. Since it is fall there are a lot of leaves on the water and that was a problem. It seemed that if there was a floating leaf any where near where I cast I would hook it. I finished the day with only 26 bass one was a largemouth. I had expected a much better day. You would think they would be feeding better with a drop in the water temperature. It still beat a day at work. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

