The New River

Five of us finally made it up to the New River. To say we had a great time would be an under statement. Those that went were my nephew David a coworker and friend of his Darren, also a couple that are my friends Aaron and Sabrina. We fished Saturday and Sunday. The water was super clear and very low. The river was the lowest I have every seen in the 12 years or so that I have been fishing it. It was only running at 1200 CFS. The good news was that the fish were biting, the bad news was we didn’t catch any big fish. Most of our fish were in the 10 to 13 inch range. Our biggest fish was a 16 inch fish caught by David. To be honest we loss more fish than we boated. I must say that I got my butt kicked by Aaron and Sabrina. This was Aaron and Sabrina’s second time to ever fish for smallmouths. Their first trip was with me on a trip down the Elkhorn. We only used small light color small crankbaits and the small super Flukes. Aaron finished the trip by boating 104 Smallies, Sabrina boated 140 and I only boated 96. David and Darren didn’t keep a count. That was a total of 340 Smallmouths for 3 fisher persons. If you ever get the chance to fish the New River please do so. We used New River Outfitters. I have been fishing with them so long that the Owner Dewaun and his wife Frances have become good friend. Beside the great fishing the scenery and running the rapid are just unbelievable. I don’t know where he finds the guides to control the boats but they will keep you laughing most of the day, plus they know how to run the rapids. If you ever become interested in fishing the New River give Dewaun a call. I like the 2 day trip. with the package you get shore lunches, a steak dinner and you spend the night in a house on the bank of the river.  Till the next Report hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

