Private Lake Fishing

Can you believe the weather. For those of you that don’t live here in Kentucky it has rained so much that every fishing hole is flooded. In the last 5 days we have received over 3.6 inches of rain at my house and more coming today and tomorrow. I had hoped to fish Taylorsville Lake but it is 20 feet above summer pool. Elkhorn Creek looks like the Kentucky River ,but faster. Canoe KY has been unable to let anyone on the creek in the last 17 days due to high water.  I decided to give the private lake a try. The water was up a foot or more and there was a lot of grass, weeds and junk on the surface. The good thing about the lake is that it never muddy’s up. It will get a little dark due to algae blooms at times. When I got there we still had cloud cover so I started with a buzzbait. I was able to catch 8 to 10 fish before the sun came out and the top water bite went away. I changed to a crankbait. I was able to catch fish but I caught a lot more weeds than fish. The main problem was the fish were still very scattered. Normally by now the fish are schooling. They may not be large fish but you can set in one place and just about get a hit every cast and catch 25 fish or more. That sure isn’t happening. I can only guess that the problem is the water is up and down almost every day and the water is a lot cooler than it should be for this time of year. The water temperature is in the 70’s and should be 80’s or 90’s. The good thing was the fish I caught were in the 1.5 lbs to 2 lbs range which was fun. I did find one spot were there was a heavy flow into the lake and I caught 8 fish on a worm. This was were I caught my biggest at 2 lbs 14 oz. I finished the afternoon with only 29 bass which is terrible for that lake. I wish I could tell you were the fish are biting but I can’t. One the best places to catch a fish may be your back yard if you live around here.  Till the next report hope to see you on the water or my back yard.

Leave a Reply

