ELKHORN CREEK REPORT

I went down and fished Elkhorn from just above Knights Bridge back to Canoe Ky. The water is very clear, but only running at a little over 100 cfs. At that flow I hit a lot of rocks. With water so clear it was neat to see all the fish. I saw big carp, big drum. gar, suckers and all kinds of smallmouths. I saw a number of smallies in the 17 to 18 inch range. I was able to hook a couple of those big guys but near got them in. Fishing was decent. Due to a lot of moss on the bottom I only used mini flukes. I will say that when one did hit they usually tore my fluke off. I believe I went thru more mini Flukes today than I ever have. Most of the fish were small, but I caught enough 12 to 14 inchers to keep thing interesting. Most of the fish were in the current less than 18 inches deep with a lot of rocks. The fish turned on good at about 6 pm and just before dark it was like someone turned the switch off. I loss a lot of fish during that time and I don’t know why. I may be using too small of a hook. I finished the day with just 61 fish which isn’t a great day, but it kept me entertained. There was a bunch of boat traffic, but it didn’t seem to bother the fish. The fish are biting so you better give them a try. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

