Taylorsville Lake Report

I went to Taylorsville yesterday the 29th. The water was clear for Taylorsville. The water Temp was near 80. The fish where still on the banks in 3 to 5 feet of water , but more scattered. Candy creek was the best. I did catch some fish on the main lake banks in about the same depth. The shad color was still working. I only caught 2 fish that were keepers and they were both just over 15 inches.  One bright thing was when they hit they hit hard. I only loss 7 fish for the day. I must say that you will occasionally hook a Drum (White Perch) I hooked a couple that I couldn’t slow down and I landed a couple of smaller ones. One can tell by their strike that it’s not a bass, they go deep. Most of the fish I caught were in the 12 to 14 inch range with a few more smaller fish than last week. Nice quality fish.  I finished the day with only 29 bass, not a bad day by far. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

3 responses to “Taylorsville Lake Report

  1. Do you usually launch at Van Buren or state ramp? which is closer to Candy Branch.

    • I always launch a Van Buren. It closer to Lexington. After I launch I usually run down to Candy and then fish the creeks back toward Van Buren. Mitchells Run and Timber creek have been very good this year. If we don’t get a lot of rain I hope to fish Taylorsville in the next couple of days. The only problem I have with Taylorsville is if it raises 3 feet or more above normal pool I have a hard time fining the fish.

Leave a Reply

