Lake St Clair

I have to say that this has been the worst spring for fishing I can remember. If it not the flooded lakes and streams, it’s the cold weather. I just got back from my first trip to Lake St Clair. The first day Tuesday I thought my hands would freeze. The second day was a little better but it rained. The third day was decent and finally day four was about prefect. The only problem was when we went out in the morning it was so foggy you could see maybe 200 feet. If it wasn’t for GPS and saved tracks we probably wouldn’t have gone out till after noon. Fishing was very hard the water temperature was in the high 40s to high 50s. The one good thing with the weather was that it was only windy one morning. A couple of the day the water was almost like glass. The lake was so clear that you could see the bottom running in the boat at 30 mph at 6 feet. We had a hard time finding the fish. When we did it was hard to get them to bite. You would have to make very long cast to keep from spooking the fish. The smallies weren’t running very big most in the 2 1/2 to 3 lb range. My biggest was 3.10 lbs. We caught most of our fish on small Flukes and Grubs, except the last day and I caught most of my fish on top water. That made my whole trip because catching bass on topwater is my favorite way to catch them. This was my worst trip to St Clair as far as numbers caught, only 94 smallies. I caught 46 my last day.  I will be going back for a second trip in a couple of weeks and weather should improve. Till my next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

