STONER CREEK FISHING

My Nephew David and I when to Stoner Creek Yesterday. To say it was a terrible day would be an improvement. I don’t know what was going on. It looked to be a perfect day to fish. Partly cloudy and in the low 80’s. The water was clear and in the high 60’s. The only problem was there was a lot of leaves on the water.  We tried everything in the tackle box. When we got there it was cloudy so we started with top water. we tried buzz baits and spooks. We did get a couple of hits. We tried crankbaits and I caught 1 small fish. We tried worms nothing. We tried craws nothing. We were finally able to catch a few fish on frogs.  The fish just were not attacking them and we missed a whole lot more fish than we caught. The only good thing was that the fish we caught were in the 2 lbs. class. The pattern was a large log toward the middle of the creek. If it was by itself was best. If there were a number of logs , the biggest log pointing toward the middle of the creek was best. I did hook one big fish and it went under a log and broke me off using 14 # line.  We never caught a fish on rocks or near the banks. I must say this was the worst day I can remember on Stoner and one of the worst day I can remember fishing in years. We finished the day with only 9 bass.  I wish I had a better report. I know its been awhile since my last post, but I have been in Florida catching fish with a lot of teeth on the big pond. This weekend I am going to West Virginia to fish the New River with a friend.  I hope to have a great weekend, but the weather isn’t looking very good right now. I just hope the weathermen screw-up like they do most of the time and get the forecast wrong. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

