Private Lake Fishing

My good friend Robby made a fishing appointment last week for Monday. Since he didn’t have a lot of time we went to the private lake I fish. It was very overcast, so I thought lets start with a topwater. We both threw buzzbaits and I won’t say the fish weren’t biting, but the bite was slow. The problem was we couldn’t get them to hit anything else. The fish were again in shallow water. Most of our fish were near or in weeds. The fish we caught were nice size. My biggest was 2 lbs 15 ozs. I had 2 bigger fish that hit, but you know how it goes the big ones get away. We only fished for 4 hours and we boated 30 fish. The strange year continues. Till the next report hope to see you on the water.

2 responses to “Private Lake Fishing

  1. I’m new to your site, and I don’t live in Kentucky (yet) but I was just curious…when you say you “boated” 30 fish, does that mean you caught and released them, or did you take them home? Don’t worry, I’m not with Fish & Game, just another casual fisherman from down South. Thank you for your reply.

    • I’m not worried about Fish and Wildlife. I catch and release almost every fish I catch. When I say I boated a fish that means that I got it into the boat and had to unhook it and released it. They don’t count unless they are boated. To be honest I don’t like to eat fish much. The only fish I do keep occasionally is crappie or hybred rockfish. Hope that clears up everything

Leave a Reply

