Stoner Creek Fishing

The reason I haven’t posted any thing in the last 10 days or so is that I was in Florida. We went down to the condo to get away and to work on the boat I purchased. I did a little fishing while there. If anyone wants to know how to catch saltwater catfish give me a call. I did catch my first Snook  and that was fun. It was about 28 inches. Anyway I decided to go fishing. I put in at Frymans yesterday afternoon. I must say I got a surprise. The water was up a little and it was almost muddy. Winchester must have gotten allot of rain. To be honest I believe Stroge Creek was muddier than Stoner. There is a lot of duck weed above the forks of Stoner and Stroge. When I first got there I thought this would be excellent time to throw a frog. I tried that for a while and only had one hit. I went up to where the shallow water and riffles started. I started catching fish on a shallow crankbait. Most of the fish I caught were smallmouths. Most of the fish were on the edges of washouts.  I caught several smallies in the 12 to 15 inch range which was a lot of fun.  When I decided to leave I decided to give the duck weed another try, Am I glad I did. The fish I caught and the fish I had hits on were all big. I hooked and lost the 2 biggest fish I have seen on Stoner. Both were in the 4 to 5 lb class. As luck would have it they both pulled off at the boat. I never caught a fish under 2 lbs on the frog. I finished the afternoon with only 36 bass. The big fish seem to be hitting on Stoner so give them a try. Till the next post hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

