Lake St Clair

Just got back from my first trip to Lake St Clair. The water was very muddy in parts of the lake and the water temp is still cool. We fished 4 days and I will say that 2 of the day the lake was the calmest I have ever seen it. The warmest water we were able to find was 67 degrees. Near the shipping channel it was 49 degrees. About 10 days or so ago we were told that there was big ice chunks flowing out of Lake Huron. We were able to find some pre-spawn bass. We caught most of our fish on grubs. It was very slow fishing. I caught a total of 103 Smallies, none weighted less that 2.5 lbs. fish. Color didn’t seem to make a difference I caught fish on about every thing I had. I will be returning next week I hope the water warms up. If you want to catch big Smallmouths Lake St Clair is the place. I did catch a few Largemouths and one was the biggest I have ever caught there 4 lbs. Till the next report hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

