Elkhorn Fishing Report

I started fishing at Knights bridge at about 1 pm. It took me a little while to find the fish. The fish were in fast water with allot of rock. The water had to be shallow, less than 2 feet. There were a few at the top of rapids and below them. I was using a very shallow crankbait and a fluke that I fished very fast, keeping it near the surface. The fish were hitting great, but I was having a hard time keeping them hooked. I lost about as many as I boated. The water still has a little color to it. The creek was running at about 130 cfs. With the creek that low I love to fish it, but that means that you are going to hit allot of rocks. Most of the fish were small , but I had 5 that were in the 14 to 16 inch range. I ran into T J and a buddy fishing and they were doing about the same as me. I will say I thought I was loud when I lose a big fish, but T J can give me a run for the money. He was fishing behind me and hooked about a 20 inch fish. He got it to the yak and was swing it in and the line broke. Everyone within a few miles knew about it. I finished the day with 43 bass. All but 2 were smallmouths. If you can you should give them a try. The fish are biting. Till the next report hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

