NEW RIVER FISHING

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARobby and I were finally able to fish the New River in West Virginia. This was Robby’s first time to fish the New. He fell in love with the river just like I have. This was my forth attempt this year. The first three times Dewaun called and canceled due to high water. We fished Monday and Tuesday. The water was still a little higher than I like, 7 to 8 thousand cfs. It did make running the rapids fun. The first day the fish weren’t very active till about 4 pm. We caught some good quality fish up to about 17 inches. Robby caught a couple of nice walleye. The second day Tuesday the numbers were better, but the quality was not as good. I did catch my first New River walleye. We caught most of our fish on crankbaits. I ended the trip with 121 smallies. If you ever want to have a great guided smallmouth fishing trip at a reasonable price give New River Outfitter’s a call. I have been using Dewaun’s services for 8-9 years and I have never had a bad trip. The 2 day trip is the best. Its great to stay in his cabin on the river and the food is great. We had a new guide James the second day and I must say I haven’t laughed that much and that hard for a very long time. Till the next report hope to see you on the water.

One response to “NEW RIVER FISHING

  1. I too have fished the NEW from Dewaun Gilkerson’s boats and it was always a good time. Many, many nice fish in that stretch of the gorge.

Leave a Reply

