STONER CREEK REPORT

I was able to go to Stoner Creek Tuesday. The water was up about a foot and murky. It was surprising how much current there was. I was only able to fish for about 4.5 hours. I started with a Zoom craw and found the fish where in eddies on the edge of current. or at the top or bottom of deeper holes. It turned out that the fish were hitting about anything I would use. deep crankbaits, shallow crankbaits and jerkbaits. I had a couple of surprises. The first was all the fish I caught were largemouth’s. I couldn’t find the smallmouth any where. The second was that I never caught a fish under 10 inches, with the larges going about 2.5 lbs. I ended the day with 46 bass which was a very good afternoon. I do want to say that I seldom get upset with other people fishing because if someone get too close I just move because I feel that I will find the fish. There were some fishermen in a boat that came running up the creek in 15 inches of water on plane and they almost hit me. I guess you just can’t fix stupid and I hope they have allot of money to repair their motor. The fish are biting, till the next report hope to see you on the water.

2 responses to “STONER CREEK REPORT

  1. were is this creek {stoner} i’m new to creek fishing

    • Stoner Creek is in Bourbon County. (Paris) There are 2 public launch ramps. One is called Ikes which is off Stoner Ave in Paris. The other is Frymans which is off Spearsmill Rd. When Stoner Creek and Hinkston Creek meet the water becomes the South Fork of the Licking River. Hinkston is another great Creek to fish. It is in northern Bourbon Co. and runs thru Millersburg. Hope this helps.

      Tommy

Leave a Reply

