ELKHORN FISHING REPORT

I went to the creek yesterday in an attempt to recover my lost rods. The water was still to high to find them, so I decided to fish. The smallmouth are bedding. I observed 5 fish guarding fry. I will say that I didn’t catch a great number of fish but I caught the biggest smallmouth number I have ever caught. I ended the day with only 20 fish and 5 of them were largemouth’s. I had 9 smallmouth’s that were between 15 and 19 inches. They were hitting Zoom flukes in slower water next to deep banks. 2 to 3 feet deep. It seemed that they were on mud or banks with sand or small rock. I didn’t catch any in fast water or around large rock. I believe this was due to the spawn. I only lost 4-5 fish and they were all big. I can only hope we don’t get allot of rain because I will give them another try the first of the week. Till the next report hope to see you on the water

3 responses to “ELKHORN FISHING REPORT

  1. Charleswinter54

    What is a flukie  and where do you find them? Are you refering to a zoom bait?

    • Charles Sorry about the spelling. Yes I am talking about Zoom Flukes. Both the mini and the small Super Flukes. I like the lighter colors. I will fix this in my post shortly.

  2. Thanks for the info. I stumbled upon your blog while researching the Elkhorn. We just moved to Georgetown and this creek/river seems like a gem. I will def.check back frequently for updates and pointers while I’m learning the area.

Leave a Reply

