Elkhorn Creek Fishing

It was a tough day on the creek. The water was dingy and running at about 350 fps and dropping. It took me quiet awhile to find the fish. I was able to catch a couple of fish on a Pop-R. I finally changed to a minnow crankbait at the top of Clay Bank rapids and started catching fish. The fish were in the swift water of the rapids. I caught my biggest fish at the top or bottom of very fast water. I only caught two sizes of fish either very small(under 6 inches) or nice size(11 to 15 inches). The good thing was I caught more of the larger fish. The real surprise was I kept catching gar. I must have hooked 8 to 10 of them. One of the first one I caught I first thought I had hooked the creek record smallmouth, It finally jumped and I saw it was a 3 foot gar. I have ocasionally hooked a gar in the creek, but today I couldn’t keep from catching them. I ended the day with 30 smallmouths so it was a fun day. The water is clearing so fishing should improve. Till the next report hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

