Lake St Clair

I got back last night from my first trip this year to Lake St Clair Canada. If you like to catch Smallmouth’s this is the lake. I go up a couple of times each year and I must say this was the best total trip I have had there. The weather was great. The first morning was alittle cool but it warmed up fast. I go up with 3 friends, its one of those male bonding things. We fish the Canadian side around the Mitchell Bay area. One of the normal problems you have on Lake St Clair is the wind. We had a couple of days where the wind was up around 15 mph. One day the Lake was like glass. I have never seen the lake this calm. We caught most of our fish on Flukes. Lizards and Spinnerbaits. In 4 days of fishing I boated 107 Smallmouth’s and 1 Largemouth. I only had 3 fished under 3 lbs.. My biggest was a 5 lbs 2 oz fish. This was the biggest Smallmouth I have ever caught. Most of the fish were weighting between 3 and 4.5 lbs. I loss about as many fish as I boated. You can not believe how hard the fish fought. If you ever get the chance to fish Lake St Clair be sure too. We pull our boats there and it is only about a 7.5 hour drive to Wallaceburg, Ontario. I hope to fish Elkhorn later in the week and will give a report. I will be going back to Lake St Clair in a week for I hope some more outstanding fishing. Till the next report hope to see you on the water.

6 responses to “Lake St Clair

  1. Dang Unc. Bet your wrists are sore.
    Lol
    Looks like I missed a heck of a trip.

  2. Outstanding! I took my 1st trip up there last year and have been dying to go back ever since. We fished the U.S. side with a guide and did really well.
    Have you ever considered it in a kayak? I fish from a kayak 95% of the time so of course I have thought about it numerous times.

    • The problem with fishing from a kayak is you have to cover so much water. The closes area we fished from the launch ramp was about 4 miles. The area where we caught the most fish was about 8 miles. The other problem is the wind. There are areas you can fish out of the wind but getting there would be the problem. The U S side has good fishing, but we have found that the Canadian side is better for smallmouths which is what we love to catch. Our trip using our boats. all gas (boat and vehicle) licenses, ramp fee, meals and 6 nights at the Oaks Motel cost between $500 and $700 each. We take drinks and what we have for lunch with us from home. I’m going back next week for another week of fishing. You do need a passport.

      • maybe i’m reading the regulations incorrectly, but aren’t smallmouth out of season(even catch and release) on the canadian side until the fourth saturday in june? on michigan side looks like catch and release open last saturday in april to third saturday in june? hope i’m wrong. canadian side smallies sound great!

      • You are correct. We stay on the Canadian side due to problems we have had in Detroit. Boats broken into and things stolen from our trucks. We fish the American side on our first trip in May. We will fish for some pike, muskies and rockbass on the canadian side some. Its only about a 10 mile boat ride to American waters. We go back in June and fish the Canadian side.

Leave a Reply

