Kentucky River Fishing

Have you ever had one of those days when you should have stayed home. Well today was mine. I decided to fish pool 8 on the Kentucky River. Pool 8 is east of Nicholasville. After launching my boat I found that my Auto inflatable life jacket had deployed.

Across from the ramp is Paint Lick Creek. I decided to start fishing there. The water was what Dad called gin clear. You could see the bottom in 10 feet of water. I had 3 strikes and caught 1 small largemouth. I decided to go down river to Sugar Creek and give it a try. I noticed that when I took off I had a hard time getting my new bass boat to plane. I thought it may be some old gas. After it was on plane it ran great.

Sugar creek looked allot better, it had some color to it. I was able to catch one Largemouth. It was about 2.5 lbs, a nice fish. I thought I would make a long run up to Silver Creek and give it a try and also run the boat. When I tried to take off I could not get the boat to plane. To say I was not a happy camper. I started checking the motor and could find nothing wrong. I noticed that the boat seemed low in the water. I opened the rear hatch and found about a foot of water in it. No wonder the boat wouldn’t plane. It took the bilge about 15 minutes to pump enough water out to get the boat up on plane. I found that apparently some water had frozen and cracked a seam on the aerator pump and that was where the leak was.

I fished Silver Creek and caught one more small fish. I did lose 2 nice fish, both looked to be around 3 lbs each. What did I find. The fish were on wood and some appeared to be trying to spawn. I caught all the fish on a fluke. The water temperature was between 63 and 67 degrees. The River is very low. I have never seen it this low in the spring. 

I should have floated Elkhorn, but I couldn’t because Nathan hasn’t gone and picked up my new  ultimate 12 and set it up. I guess I can blame him for all my bad day. I hope this helps and I hope you don’t have a day like mine. Till the next report, hope to see you on the water.

Leave a Reply

