Elkhorn Fishing Report

Did I have one of those days and most fishermen have had them. Just couldn’t land many fish. The fish were hitting great but I just couldn’t land them. The afternoon started alittle slow but I expected that due to allot of traffic on the creek. The fish were at the top of rapids and behind large rocks in the current. Most of the fish I landed were on the small size, but I did boat a 14.5 inch and a 15.5 inch fish. I’m not saying that the big fish weren’t hitting, I just couldn’t land them. I had 2 large fish break me off. The fish were hitting plastics and small minnow lures. I ended up landing 24 smallmouths, but I loss twice that many. The creek is alittle low 130 cfs and I hit allot of rocks with my yak, but it was still a great day to be on the water. I hope everyone has a great Holiday weekend. Hope to see you on the water.

Leave a comment